
Wed Jun 09, 2004, 11:08am
|
Esteemed Participant
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Well, Rocky, Mark can always justify the T under Rule 10-4-1 by saying "In my, MTD Sr's opinion, that is an unsporting act". It doesn't matter if there isn't another official in the Free World that would agree that it was an unsporting act, he does have that leeway the way that R10-4-1 is written. It was written to leave what an "unsporting act" may also be, other than the examples listed, up to the calling official. Iow, you can second-guess his judgement( which I certainly do also), but he does have the right, by rule, to call a T if he wants. Like you say, though, there is no rule in the the book that I know of that would then allow him to take the basket away when the whistle was blown AFTER it was scored. Mark, exactly what rule did you use to take away the points?
|
Yeah, I get the 10-4-1 part (although that's a MAJOR strrrrrreeeettttccchhhh), but not sure how they justify double-thumping the team by taking away the basket AND whacking the coach...and btw, JR, I still hate Roger Clemens even tho he's not a Yank anymore....1-0 sucks...
|