So many different ways to view both calls...however, I would like to talk about the first one. The WIAA did make a rule clarification about slapping the backboard and boy was it a hot topic at our association meeting.
10-3-6 -- Clarified illegal contact on the backboard by stating that a player shall not: a. place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage. b. While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.
We understand that if the player is making a legitimate attempt on blocking the shot and their hand slaps the backboard, this is allowable.
The discussion came on what to call when the blocker slaps the backboard in a legitimate attempt and the ball is on the rim and then due to the slap,
ball does not go in.
Do we play on?
In reading the rule and it's clarification, some officials were under the impression that regardless of where the ball is (rim, in the cylinder), if player made a legitimate attempt to block the shot, play on.
Other officials, stating that the defense now gains has an advantage by slapping the backboard and causing the ball to not go in, would still call basket interference. They would not penalize the slap, but rather the advantage the defender gained by slapping the backboard.
Any takers????
|