the call would be determined from what the ground rules for the playing field were set before the game started..if no ground rules were set then that is an umpires mistake because he should of realized the trees were in play.
but to any call that wwould need to be made i would have to say that the ball was interfered with and no more than to bases could be attained since the tree would have touched the live ball. that is one thing that has to be covered in the pregame with the coaches.
__________________
while umpiring I have yet to WIN, LOSE, or even TIE a game. I am only there to call it like I see it.
|