View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 31, 2004, 06:25am
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by ozzy6900
I am a little confused here. My son umpired a Babe Ruth game last weekend. The home coach is a FED umpire and a good egg. However, when he asked for time to visit his pitcher, he would not cross the foul line. His pitcher & catcher had the meeting at the line like LL used to be. My son (UIC) instructed them to have the meeting on the mound as stipulated in the BR manual & OBR. The coach stated that he does not cross the line because in his opinion, he does not belong there "between the lines belongs to the players". The discussion was quiet (my son informed me of the conversation later) and he allowed the meeting to continue.

Now I am a rules guy so in my opinion, he has to meet on the mound or we don't know when the meeting is officially over (OBR 8.06 - BR also). What is the opinion of my brothers out there?
A coach not going onto the diamond is still the LL rule in the majors and minors. (8.06) This coach has simply "graduated" to Babe Ruth. The conference ends when it ends.

There's no need to make a big deal of this. A "trip to the mound" is simply a metaphor for a visit with the pitcher, wherever it occurs.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote