View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 19, 2004, 12:43pm
wadeintothem wadeintothem is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Regarding the protest: I did notifiy the scorer and the opposing coach but only on the Interference at home. I was not aware he was going to protest as many plays as he did. He only told me he was protesting the Interference call.. I also made my own notes on the back of my scorecard for his team. I dont know anything about the league by laws. There is no way his protest would hold merit under ASA rules IMO.

Well I have written a memo to the UIC and just got off the phone again. I have been moved to the 14U games but he agrees the coaches complaints are without merit. I will also likely be working a championship June 19-20th which I have never had the honor to do before!

I'm still aggravated by it all. I agree the coach should be put in his place.. but I'm thinking that will not happen.

It's unfortunate as this league uses minors (under 18) for the vast majority of their games and I believe this coach is likely accustomed to being able to bully his way to favorable calls.

I prefer the 14U and would have rather have had that anyway, and I have 3 games this sat at that level... but I agree the UIC should have not changed a damn thing for this coach.

I speak to the UIC tonight face to face.

Thanks again to all.

This is my memo to the UIC:

-------------------------------------------

Scorpions will be referred to as Blue (protesting team). S. Creek Sliders will be referred to as Green.

Basis for protest and my rulings with explanations:
1. A) PROTEST: Warning provided to Green Coach for excessive complaining regarding balls and strikes.
B) MY RULING AND EXPLAINATION: The coach was complaining about the pitches and was without merit in her complaints. I have a consistent and legal strike zone.
- The Green coach was in fact in violation of ASA 10.6.A (judgment).
- The Green coach was warned in accordance with ASA 10.9.D.
- The Blue coach has no basis to protest this warning. ASA 9.1.C.
- The Blue coach is incorrect as to his interpretation and/or understanding of the rules in question.


2. A) PROTEST: Umpire Interference – With Blue R1 on 3B – on a Green wild pitch/passed ball – R1 breaks for home. The catcher / umpire collided possibly delaying the tag by the catcher (there was no throw or attempt to throw). R1 was called safe at home.
At the time of the play, the coach appealed for Umpire Interference. I did not grant the appeal.
B) MY RULING AND EXPLAINATION: Umpire Interference is not called on a passed ball. The ball is live and the Umpire for all intents and purposes is a part of the playing field.
Umpire Interference – ASA 8.1.E. applies only to a batted ball before it passes a defender other that F1 so would not apply to this situation in any case.
Umpire Interference under ASA 8.6.F. applies to an attempted pick off play and was more likely the rule being protested. Interference is not called on a passed ball as specifically stated in ASA 8.6.F.
- The Blue coach has no basis to protest this call: ASA 9.1.I.
- The Blue coach is incorrect as to his interpretation and/or understanding of the rules in question.

3. A) PROTEST: Runner Interference: Runner coming home collided with F2 in possession of the ball and did not slide. Coach appealed on the Basis that the runner slipped on home plate causing the collision. The coach advised me later that the Runner was injured on this play.
B) MY RULING AND EXPLAINATION: I concur that the action on the part of the runner was not intentional and certainly was not flagrant. As a result of this judgment, I ruled the runner out for Interference and did not eject said player. Had there been no interference on the part of the runner, I would have ruled the runner safe.

ASA 8.6.Q.: The Runner is out: When a defensive player has the ball or is about to catch a thrown ball and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player. If the act is determined to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. An errant throw drawing the defense into the patch of the runner is not interference. Effect: Dead Ball – Runner out.

ASA 8.6.Q. directly applies to this ruling.
P.O.E. 13 specifically states that the purpose of this rule is to prevent injury. As there was an injury on this play, ASA’s intent of this rule is clear.
- The Blue coach has no basis to protest this call: ASA 9.1.I.
- The Blue coach is incorrect as to his interpretation and/or understanding of the rules in question.

4. A) PROTEST: Runner coming home missed the plate. Coach made proper appeal in accordance with 8.7.G.
B) MY RULING AND EXPLAINATION: The player did touch home plate in my judgment.
- The Blue coach has no basis to protest this call: ASA 9.1.E.

I would like to state for the record that in my opinion it would be a grave error to grant any type of protest or accommodation to a coach filing a protest that is without merit.

----------------------------------

[Edited by wadeintothem on May 19th, 2004 at 02:02 PM]
Reply With Quote