View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 15, 2004, 07:01pm
FUBLUE FUBLUE is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 508
With the ball in the circle (F1 of course), and you know in your mind that the runner was committing back to first, you have to call it. If you don't, you've just done the defensive team wrong. Yeah, you take heat from it, but if it is the right call, it's the right call.

Let me throw one at you all...saw it at a 12U national 4 years ago.
Three umpire system.
Bases loaded, 2 outs. Hard grounder between shortstop and second base. R2 collides with F6 moving left to get ball. 3BU holds out left arm signaling obstruction. Three runs score as ball rolls all the way to fence. After play, 3BU is still holding arm out. PU calls for conference. All umpires meet. PU asks 3BU what they saw; 3BU says I have interference on R2 for colliding with fielder. Now;

1. Everyone saw her signal obstruction

2. 1BU didn't see what was happening

3. PU knows that if he calls interference on R2, he pulls three runs (and the lead) off of the board.

Winning team advances to Sunday games.

What do you call as PU?
Reply With Quote