View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 03:09pm
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Talking

I want to take a second and thank you guys and the Official Forum managers for providing a site for us die-hards who’re really serious about learning and improving our officiating skills. Maintaining the proper decorum isn’t really all that hard. But it does seem to take a registration process and a site manager to keep the whackos at bay. Anyway , guesses what I got? Now my Uncle ED has sent me a few quizzes to work on. You see, when he’s not running up and down a NFL sideline he’s keeping himself involved in helping HS football Officials. So while I’m working on the answers to Uncle Ernie’s May quiz I thought maybe you guys would like to check out Uncle Ed’s. I just glanced at some of the case plays and they seem to be pretty strait forward. So lets have some fun and see if we can learn something while we’re at it. Here’s the first one.

Directions: Give the Down/Distance/ Yardline from where the ball will next be snapped.
(ex. A 3/10 A40, clock on snap)
1. A 3/6 A44. A2 takes a handoff and runs to the A45 where he is tackled by B1. During the run, B1 grasped the facemask of the ball carrier and let go. Ruling:_____

2. A 4/10 50. A punts. The punt is caught by B2 on the B20 and run back to the B45. During the run, B3 held on the B23. Ruling:_____

3. A KO from A40. A’s kick is muffed by B2 at the B5 and rolls into the endzone. After the play-A commits a dead ball personal foul against B2. Ruling:_____

4. A 3/2 A 18. A1’s pass is intercepted by B1 and run back to the A17. B2 roughed the QB after the pass. Ruling:____

5. A 4/10 on A22. A2 muffs the snap and runs to the A31. During his run, A5 held B5 at the A23. Ruling:___

6. A 2/7 B10. A2 sweeps around right end for a TD. During the run, A8 held B6 @ the B3. Ruling:_____

7. A 2/13 on A27. A5 runs to the A32 where he fumbles the ball which is recovered by B9 who runs it in for a TD. During A5’s run, A4 clipped on the A30. Ruling:___

8. A 4/6 A37. A’s punt is fielded by B2 on the B 39 and run back to the A45. At the snap, A had only 6 men on the LOS. Ruling:___

9. A 4/6 B26. A7’s FG attempt is blocked by B2 at the B33 and rolls out of bounds at the B27. Ruling:____

10. A 1/10 A20 A2 runs and is tackled for a loss on the A9. After the play is blown dead, B2 piles on. Ruling:

11. A 1/10 A20. A2 runs to the A29 where he is tackled. After the play is blown dead A7 piles on. Ruling:___

12. A 3/3 A47. A2 runs to the A48 where he is downed. A7 held during the run @ the A47. Ruling:___

[Edited by James Neil on May 12th, 2004 at 04:13 PM]
Reply With Quote