Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
A question came up about a play.
A1 rolls the ball on the floor and recovers the ball.
Does this fit the definition of a dribble? If not, what is it? Can it be repeated?
I am interested in your rulings and why.
|
Assuming that the action was voluntary (i.e., not a fumble), A1 action was not the start of a dribble. But, it was the start of a pass.
A dribble is defined by:
NFHS R4-S15-A1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionallhy strikes the ball with the hand(s) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.
NFHS R4-S15-A2: During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).
NFHS R4-S15-A3: The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor.
A pass is defined by:
NFHS R4-S31: PASS: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats, or rolls the ball to another player.
Moving on to the definition of traveling:
NFHS R4-S43-A3a: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or a try for goal.
Unfortunately, there are not Casebook Plays that apply specifically to this play.
As one can see, this is the start of a pass, and not the start of a dribble. But the question remains, and that is: Did A1 commit a traveling violation when he/she touched the ball after releasing the ball for the pass?
I have more that I would like to add to this post, but it is late and I am going to go to bed. So I will post this response in an effort to give some information that will move the thread along.
Good night everybody.
[Edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. on May 4th, 2004 at 11:59 PM]