Thread: rule 6.05(k)
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 10:28am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoBits
Bob, I'm not familiar with that term. Enlighten me.
Probably because I used the wrong term. Here's the section from the book:

4.2 INTERFERENCE WITH INTERVENING PLAY:

Play: Play at the plate on runner attempting to score; runner is called safe.
A following play is made on the batter runner, and he is called out for interference outside the three foot lane.

Ruling: With less than two out, the run scores and batter runner is out. With two out, the run does not count. The reasoning is that an intervening play occurred before the interference. Runners would return to base last legally touched at time of interference. However, with two out, the runner reached home on a play in which the batter runner was out before he reached first base. [Note this clarification to Official Rule 2.00 Interference (a) casebook comment.]
Reply With Quote