View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 04:40pm
TexBlue TexBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I was going to include this comment in my original post, but was afraid someone may have taken it as a smart *** response. You can do whatever you want to try to justify your reasoning, a runner cannot be put out between the bases where s/he was obstructed. The only exceptions would be if there was a proper appeal of that runner missing a base or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball, an act of interference by that runner or if that runner passes another active runner.

But, Mike, this is my point, or question. Why would the obstruction still be in effect if the runner has achieved the base you would award. If it isn't in effect, why would it matter where she was tagged? I see no place where it talks about the OBS being reinstated. I can see your point about forces being reinstated, they gotta go somewhere again. But this runner isn't forced to do anything. Does the case book address anything about when the OBS quits being in effect? I've always thought it was negated when the base is achieved that the blue would award her. Now, this is a stretch and a bit ludicrous, but going by the situation and your ruling on it, would she be called out the next time she batted and was tagged out between 1st and 2nd. To me, it seems like the same thing.


Besides, congenial smart*** responses are always welcome. Ya know that.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote