View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 01:38am
bluezebra bluezebra is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Originally posted by thenewguy04
OK, here's the situation... Runner on 3rd less than 2 outs. Deep pop fly to the centerfielder, instead of catching the ball immediately and challenge the runner with his arm he pops it up and bobbles it around and then throws to third where the runner left early due to the prolonged catch. Is the runner on 3rd out???

And say this same thing happens but the outfielder bobbles it until he walks up and reaches a safe distance away from the infield to come in position of the ball, could this work as well?
That's why the rule defining a catch was changed.
Reply With Quote