Thread: Winning comment
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 18, 2004, 11:39pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by TigerBball
When the partner says, I know it was wrong coach, but I don't feel I should over-rule him on this one, I came unglued. Sorry, call me a howler, but I understand this to be a correctable error, but this partner didn't have enough balls to do it.
Coach, while it's true that the calling official could change his call if he chose to, within a certain time period, this isn't technically a Correctable Error, as defined by Rule 2-10. Partner NEVER has the authority to overrule for any reason, EVER. In your sitch, partner could have gone to calling official, and quietly suggested that the rule might have been mis-interpreted, and offered him the chance to change his own call. That's as much as the partner is allowed to do, by rule.
Reply With Quote