Thread: Winning comment
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 18, 2004, 08:19pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by mxd
What if...

A1 with ball for throw-in in his backcourt. Passes to A2 who, standing in the frontcourt, jumps, catches ball in air, and lands in the backcourt.

Violation?
No. This play is an exception that is explicitly given in the rulebook.
Additionally, where the throw-in originated is irrelevant. Even if the throw-in came from the frontcourt, it's still ok to catch it while airborne and land in your backcourt.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote