View Single Post
  #82 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 16, 2004, 09:31am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
If you're coming out of a dead ball situaton, [snip] verbally tell the player and strongly signal either spot or endline.
Dan, If you can find something in the mechanics manual that instructs the official to do this, then I will happily do so, but in the absence of that I believe that you are unfairly helping the inbounding team.
Nevada, paragraph #219 in the Officials' Manual says that "The spot for the throw-in should be designated by the administering official."

Maybe this is debatable, but it seems to me that if you designate the spot before every throw-in, you either designate one spot (point to the floor) or indicate that it's not a designated spot throw-in.

Thoughts?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote