View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 05, 2004, 10:28am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil


As a side note to my good friend Bob M from last months quiz. There was some debate as to where to spot the ball on the roughing the passer play. As you may recall I tacked on the yardage from the spot of the recovered fumble. My thinking is we give A the benefit of all the legal yards gained for this foul as that seems to be the intent of the exception to this rule. The collective options of the others in my association tend to agree with me.
REPLY: Jim, take a look at the 2003 Case Book, Play 9.4.3 Situation D on page 65. The Federation's collective opinion (for better or worse) disagrees. And there's is the one that counts...unfortunately sometimes.Teethy
I think that the NCAA's interpretation agrees with yours, i.e. that you enforce from the spot of the recovery. But for some strange reason, Fed doesn't.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote