It is a very, very fine line, but I think the difference here is not overuling a cal, but the application of rule. Was it or was it not a true control foul. Foul shots were involved, so I think this is within bounds of speaking up. I am not sure how he presented it, but I alwys suggest, never tell a partner what I saw.
Like: What did you see? I saw red touch it last. In this case I would have said, green lost the ball before there was any contact. I convey that my call is different, but I let him decide. And I don't seem pushy in the process.
For any rookies out there reading this, this should happen once every third blue moon, this is not normal!, so don't try this at home.
|