View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 06, 2004, 08:41pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally posted by umpyre007
Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.
also if the ball lodges in the umpires equipment. see 5-1-1g
That is NOT interference. This section of the FED rule book pertains to live/dead balls and the rule you refer to just makes it an immediate dead ball with bases awarded.

Yes, it IS interference. Note that 2-21-2 (Umpire interference) specifically refers to 5-1-1g as an example of interference.

Reply With Quote