Thread: Ruling
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2004, 10:00am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie
B1 is at the plate with 0-2 count. The next pitch is fouled at the plate. The plate umpire signals foul pitch and turns to clean plate. The next pitch is called strike three on B1. The official scorer says the count on the batter (B2) is 0-1 because B1 stayed at first from the previous pitch when the foul call was not heard. What is the ruling?
I'm confused... Let me guess & restate the situation. Tell me if I've got it right.

B1 at bat with a 0-2 count.
B1 hits a foul ball, but thinking it was fair, advances to first.
PU signals FOUL BALL, but either doesn't verbalize it or is not very loud, and turns to clean the plate.
B2 comes to the plate thinking it was a fair ball, too.
PU doesn't notice B2 is at the plate, and signals for the pitch.
Called strike. PU signals / calls STRIKE THREE, thinking B1 is still at the plate.

Now what?

-----

Do I have it right? If not, please restate.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote