View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2001, 04:46pm
DanIvey DanIvey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 47
Respectfully Disagree

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
We also had a player that consistently broke the plane rule, to the point of getting T'd out of one game. She learned, and hasn't had a violation since, and I never complained about the calls - just talked to her about self control. Let 'em shoot, and let's play ball. But please call them all.
Isn't a plane violation a team technical? 10-1-10: "Following the team warning for delay in 9-2-11, commit a violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane."
Yes, a plane violation after a warning is team technical. But if B1 touches the ball while the thrower A1 is still holding the ball, it's technical foul on B1 and a team warning, if a warning hasn't already been issued.

But a player shouldn't be ejected for breaking the plane.
I belive RookieDude was refering to the above quote "a player shouldn't be ejected for breaking the plane"...I believe he is on the same page with me...if that player has already received a technical foul, earlier in the game, and the "team" has already been warned not to break the throw-in plane, then a player who chooses to ignore the warning and break the plane again receives a technical foul. Afterall, it was an individual player who broke the plane, not the whole "team". I believe the "team" warning implies a warning to all "team" members not to do it again. Thus, Hawks Coach's player got ejected for breaking the plane after the whole "team" was warned.
Reply With Quote