Thread: T for 2 or 1
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2000, 06:19pm
KDM KDM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 68
Question

quote:
Originally posted by MrT on 01-05-2000 11:18 AM
NF Case book ruling 10.3.6 reads ::
: Play: A1 tries for goal. B1 jumps as if to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard or vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net. The ball: (a) goes into the basket, or (b) does not enter the basket. Ruling: In both (a) and (b), a technical foul is charged to B1."

: Almost every instance involves striking the backboard while attempting (incidental to??) to block a shot.
: SHOULD SLAPPING OR STRIKING THE BACKBOARD BY THE DEFENDER WHILE ATTEMPTING TO BLOCK THE OPPONENT'S SHOT ALWAYS (OR ALMOST ALWAYS) RESULT IN A TECHNICAL FOUL?



MrT,

Please read the 'comment' at the top of the next page (pg. 71) of the case book for your answer.

KDM


[This message has been edited by KDM (edited January 05, 2000).]
Reply With Quote