Thread: T for 2 or 1
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2000, 12:18pm
MrT MrT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1
Post

quote:
Originally posted by KDM on 01-01-2000 08:55 AM
Actually its rule 10-3-6, but that's not why I'm replying. The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional or deliberate contact with the backboard. Contact which occurs incidentally in playing the game is allowed, but when slapping or striking is intentional or deliberate or is so forceful it cannot be ignored, a technical foul must be charged.

The official must decide if one of three things occurred in order to charge a technical foul. The player who contacts the board 'illegally' is either hoping the contact will (A) cause the try to be unsuccessful, or (B) is doing it to draw attention, or (C) as a means of venting frustration.

The National Federation does not stipulate at what degree of "force" would constitute a violation. Therefore, not every 'hard' slap is a violation, and not every 'light' slap is legal.

KDM


NF Case book ruling 10.3.6 reads ::
: Play: A1 tries for goal. B1 jumps as if to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard or vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net. The ball: (a) goes into the basket, or (b) does not enter the basket. Ruling: In both (a) and (b), a technical foul is charged to B1."

: Almost every instance involves striking the backboard while attempting (incidental to??) to block a shot.
: SHOULD SLAPPING OR STRIKING THE BACKBOARD BY THE DEFENDER WHILE ATTEMPTING TO BLOCK THE OPPONENT'S SHOT ALWAYS (OR ALMOST ALWAYS) RESULT IN A TECHNICAL FOUL?

Reply With Quote