View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2001, 08:58am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Middle of the third quarter, my partner calls a foul, reports it, the table says, "5 fouls" I was a little surprised, as this girl hadn't played a whole lot, and she hadn't been much involved in the action. My surprise was appropriate, since she was surprised too, and burst into tears. The coach instantly protested, and my partner quickly stepped to the table and began examining the book. Almost nothing matched, it was just awful. Finally, we figured out that the book person had been putting fouls on this poor girl (whose number was 14) when they should have been on 41. The screwy part about the whole thing was that the 41 who should have had these fouls was on the other team. Still, after about 10 minutes, my partner and I agreed that this was probably right. So we "adjusted" the books (butchered would probably be a better word) and got on with the game.

My question is, what changes were within our rights, and what changes were not? I figured that this fell under the bookkeeping rules section, and not a correctable error, since we had probably reported it correctly, but it had been recorded wrong. But how far are we allowed to go in the matter of changing the book?

Incidentally, in this game we had trouble with the control panel for the clock--scoreboard. The clock would black out and then when we got it back on, it was running ELAPSED time instead of REMAINING time. The third time, we just reset it and used elapsed time since the process of "fixing" it took too long.
Jewel,
This transposition happens sometimes when officials use two hands to report a number to the table.
I think making the book right is fine, unless it becomes uncomfortably tedious. It is a shame that it happens and it is a reflection on the Site administrators.
Last night we had a three minute pause in the action because the "Scoreboard" showed #11 had fouled and there was no #11 on either team. I mean, "big deal", who cares what the scoreboard shows? One team wanted an administrative technical, when all it turned out to be was the timer pressing the wroong button.
mick
Reply With Quote