quote:
Originally posted by Richard Kreimer on 12-31-1999 08:34 PM
I misunderstood the problem, under 10-3-7 it is a T. 
Actually its rule 10-3-6, but that's not why I'm replying. The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional or deliberate contact with the backboard. Contact which occurs incidentally in playing the game is allowed, but when slapping or striking is intentional or deliberate or is so forceful it cannot be ignored, a technical foul must be charged.
The official must decide if one of three things occurred in order to charge a technical foul. The player who contacts the board 'illegally' is either hoping the contact will (A) cause the try to be unsuccessful, or (B) is doing it to draw attention, or (C) as a means of venting frustration.
The National Federation does not stipulate at what degree of "force" would constitute a violation. Therefore, not every 'hard' slap is a violation, and not every 'light' slap is legal.
KDM