Quote:
Originally posted by icallfouls
the most common rule of thumb at the HS level is, if there is a double whistle, then the official who it is coming to takes the call.
|
This rule is (or at least, should be) applied in transition only. In a settled frontcourt situation, if there is a double whistle then the official who has primary responsibility for the call should report it.
Suppose: A1 is standing at the 3-point arc on the Trail's side of the court, guarded by B1. A1 starts his drive to the basket, but after one and a half steps is handchecked by B1. Double whistle. You want the Lead to take that when it's just inside the arc in front of the T -- just b/c he was moving toward the L? Nuh-uh.
In a settled offense let the primary official take the call, regardless of where the ball is headed.