Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Shaq went up for a shot. He was fouled. The clock should have stopped. Perhaps it did for a split second or maybe it didn't, I don't know. But the horn then sounded before the shot was released. That's where the confusion came in. The Raptors thought time had expired prior to Shaq releasing the shot. By rule, the clock should have stopped and the shot, then released, would count.
I can't imagine the horn, light, and clock being out of sync. I guess there's a remote possibility but I can't imagine it happening. I would venture that the horn is the official end of the game but all three should be in sync.
|
I have no problem with Shaq being fouled. Fouls happen.
However, was Shaq fouled when the clock stopped for this instant? Or, IOW, was the clock stopping the result of Shaq being fouled?
YES = the Grizzlies were hosed because the clock should have stopped at about 1.1 left (was *clearly* before time expired and I remember someone saying there is no lag time in the NBA). Then, the Grizzlies could have had a chance to tie or win the game, with time on the clock.
NO = Shaq might not have got the shot off before time expired OR the Grizzlies would have had the extra time to make a play. (After calling a timeout on a rebound or after the basket. & Does the clock not stop after a basket in the NBA with under a certain amount of time left?) Regardless, there are what-ifs that Vancouver had a legitimate aruguement about, that the players DID NOT determine the outcome of the game, but rather the game was influenced by a timing error. By golly, I should hope that in the NBA, who goes all-out at using quality officials and state-of-the-art timing devices, that a timing error is a correctable error.
was Shaq fouled before the clock stopped?
YES = timing error. Stopped too late. Grizzlies should get more time on the clock.
NO = timing error. It had no reason to stop whatsoever. Shaq's actions might have been different.
Was Shaq fouled after the clock was stopped?
YES = timing error. Stopped too early. Grizzlies should get more time on the clock.
NO = timing error. It had no reason to stop whatsoever. Shaq's actions might have been different.
The way I see it, there was a timing error. Grizzlies got hosed.
..Mike
[Edited by JugglingReferee on Feb 4th, 2001 at 05:22 PM]