View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2001, 12:52am
joec joec is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 13
Recent situation in prep game last week: Score is B65 and A59. A is in team possession and drives toward the basket. He shoots and is fouled in the act of shooting. The shot does not go in. B42 slaps (in the opinion of the trail official) the backboard deliberately. The trail T's up B42 for the slap. To the trail's way of thinking, there can be NO DOUBT of B42's intent to slap the glass. In all the hubbub, A14 attempts the free throws and makes 1 of 2. He (A14) then attempts both T's and converts 2 of 2. Coach of B vociferously complains that A14 was NOT the correct shooter. He insists A4 was the shooter. The officials confer with the scorers bench who aptly point out that A4, and not A14, is the shooter. The error is deemed correctable. A4 goes to the line and makes 2 of 2. Coach of B screams that both T's need to be repeated as the incorrent shooter on the personals nullifies the converted technical foul shots as the entire sequence was disturbed, and "the whole damn thing" needs repeated. The officials look at each other and mutter "no way." The ball is put into play by A at the division line. Ruling; commentary?
Reply With Quote