View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 09:37pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BigJoe
The player may not start a dribble while still airborn after catching the blocked shot. This would be traveling.
Casebook 4-43.3
Wrong. If the ball never leaves the shooter's hands and the ball is blocked, you have a jump ball- casebook play 4.25.2. If the ball leaves the shooter's hands, and the defender then blocks the ball back into the shooter's hands, the shooter can now legally do anything with the ball, including coming back down with it and starting a dribble. It is not travelling. Player and team control ended when the shot left the shooter's hands- rule 4-12-6.

Btw, what case play are you referring to? 4.43.3 A,B or C? If it's A, which one of the 4 situations are referencing? I can't see any in there that are applicable to this play.
Reply With Quote