View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2001, 10:41pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
If it must be released on a pass, then isn't it a violation on the offense if a defender grabs the ball (with the ball having broken the plane), since the inbounder (is that ok Mark?) never released the ball? This is admittedly an extremely technical reading of the rule, but if the offense holds the ball over the plane, it seems that no matter who grabs it, there is a violation of 7-6-1 due to no release.
9-2-11 Note covers this situation as well as the case book play below.

7.6.3A. Play: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1's hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket. Ruling: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote