Thread: technical fouls
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 10:12am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by readingofficial
I have Two questions

1. A-1 is driving toward the basket for an apparant goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the Head coach of Team B. How should the official rule this situation?
2. A-1 is driving toward the basket. B-1 is in legal guarding position. As play progresses, B-1 acting as though charged, falls to the floor. The official rules a technical foul on B-1. Is the official correct?

NFHS rules:

1)NCAA Ref was correct. This play is almost word-for-word with casebook play 10.4.1SitC.
2)A T can be called on the defender for an unsporting act, if he flops with no contact. It could also be ignored,or a warning could be issued. It's basically up to each individual official. There used to be a case book play on this one,too, that stated that you could call a T- but it's disappeared with age.
Reply With Quote