Thread: Not back court
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:53pm
DownTownTonyBrown DownTownTonyBrown is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Ooops

Referring to rule 4-12-3b (2001-02 Rule books) for definition of control:

"Team control continues until the opponent secures control."

Despite Team A fumbling the ball all over, and off Team B, Team A retains team control and is therefore still liable for a BC violaiton...

per Rule 9-9-1

if they are the last to touch in the FC (and thereby cause it to go into the BC) and first to touch in the BC.

I think overall, as officials we miss the correct call on these situations way too often. I know I have missed a couple this season but I'm getting better.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote