View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2001, 04:31pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by JoeT
Could some of you veterans weigh in to help me on this, please? On a dribble, when exactly do you END your hand-snap and closely guarded count? Is it the same under NF and NCAA rules? If the player is driving either (1) toward the basket or (2) toward the baseline and has "beaten" his defender (ie, they are shoulder-to-shoulder), does the count end?

Thanks in advance!!

Joe
Joe,
I've got the count going when the defender is approximately on a line between the ball handler and his/her goal .
NF and NCAA men are the same. NCAA women is holding only in frontcourt or backcourt.
1.>If the dribbler is going to the basket and the defender is on that line, my count continues.
2.> If the dribbler has beaten the defender, then the defender is not on that line, and my count ends. If they are shoulder-to-shoulder, then I look at the defender with respect to the "line" .
mick
Reply With Quote