View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2001, 01:23pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs down

Obviously, these refs screwed up big time. Where to start? No way they should have continued play without making sure A1 was replaced. OK, they realized that eventually - lesson learned.

However, there is no provision in the rules that I could find for taking the basket away and having a "do-over". NF 10.3.2 says the technical shall be assessed to a player if he participates after being disqualified when discovered. Case 10.3.2note also does not mention anything about wiping off any play that occurred while the disqualified player was participating.

Their contention that
Quote:
They rule that because the play should not have happened (i.e. a sub was not brought into the game) the ball was and remained dead after the first foul call on A1
is nonsense. What you had was bench personnel (A1 became that when his coach was notified he was disqualified - NF 4.34.3) participating illegally during a live ball. The ball became live when the official put it at the disposal of the free throw shooter.

If one of the officials had blown his whistle while A1 was driving, the play would have stopped there. But since the disqualification violation wasn't "discovered" until after the basket, it counts. Since this is also an indirect on the coach, the eventual count to three Ts on him was correct.

Not much else was, however.

BTW - since there is no provision for cancelling the basket, there is no erroneous score. Therefore this does not come under the correctable error rule.

[Edited by Mark Padgett on Jan 29th, 2001 at 12:29 PM]
Reply With Quote