View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2001, 01:23pm
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Small point, Joel, but putting the batter-runner out at first base is not a "force out".

I'm not sure about ASA rule cite, but the proper ruling in FED is 9-1 Exception
"A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:
a. by the batter-runner before touching first base;
b. by another runner being forced out;
c. ......"

The definition of a force play is "a play in which a runner loses the right to the base occupied and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner
...."(Fed 2-12-4). This can never apply to the batter-runner who may be put out "if ... after a fair hit, any fielder ,while holding the ball securely in a hand, touches first base or touches first base with the ball before the batter-runner touches first base." (Fed 8-4-1e.)

This play is one I need to make sure is gone over in our Fed association meeting, as some of these guys will not be familar with the appeal process.

Thanks,
Roger Greene,
Member UT
Reply With Quote