Thanks for the input guys. The case that was cited by Mark D (1.18 C) assumes that you know which supporters blew the air horn. While one might assume that it was by the opponent of the thrower (you know what happens when you assume), we had no definite knowledge of that and I would never make that assumption. If you read my initial post, you'll see that each horn came from opposite sides of the bleachers.
I remember reading somewhere (rules book or case book, can't remember which) something to the effect that a technical foul on the crowd usually just makes things worse and that the NFHS doesn't recommend it. I cannot imagine a time when I would ever call a "T" on the crowd.
I was just wondering what others on this board would have done in this situation. I am very aware that we used the "elastic powers" of the ref on this one. I was just interested in hearing what others might have done.... not what the case and rulebook say because this exact one is not covered.
Thx,
Z
|