Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by knightsfan74  
I caoch an 11-12 boys team, Florida HS certified refs.  Please help clarify the following... unfortunatley I did not ask for a clarification when this occurred in a recent game but would like to know only for future reference. 
If a shot rolls across the top of the backboard and falls forward into the goal is it a good shot? I have received different answers...1) it is a good shot as the ball must go over the backboard to be considered out of bounds and 2) the top of the backboard is automoatically considered out of bounds. A shot like this made a difference in a one point game and I want to make sure my players, and myself, are clear on the official ruling. Thanks  
			
		 | 
	
	
 
NFHS
Rule 7 - Sec 1 - Art 2... The ball is out of bounds when it touches:
   a. A player who is out of bounds
   b. Any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside  a boundary.
   c. The supports or back of the backboard.
   d. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.
NOTE:  When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes OVER the backboard.