View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 10:31pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
By what rule do we whack an assistant coach who, during a dead ball time out, comes onto the floor (assume no swearin'/ hollerin'/ intimidatin'/ trepidatin') to question a call?
It's a no-no under NFHS rule 10-5-2(a). Up to the discretion of the official, but the assistant coach has got no b*tch if he does happen to get nailed.By rule, he's not supposed to be out of the bench area during a time-out, and he's also not supposed to be questioning any official.
Thanks, JR,
But 10-5-2(a) doesn't address any coach talking to an official during a dead ball time-out.
And, that bench area has really quite a lot of room to roam. From what I read, or do not read, if any coach wants to talk to an official from the bench area, they can go right to the free throw lane to chat. Now, that's way on the floor.
mick
[/B]
R10-5-2(a) tells you exactly what a coach can do during a time-out. If they do anything else beside "confer with bench personnel and players within the confines of the bench area during a charged time-out", it's supposed to be a T.

I'm not saying a T should be called. I'm saying a T could be called,by rule. [/B][/QUOTE]

Okay. (Yer reachin' a might aren't you?) I follow your thought, even though the head coach may approach the table at that time, he may confer with an official on the sideline at that time, he may get a drink of water; those are not spcificallly noted.

Yet, since we often allow head coaches to ask us stuff, about a particular play, without penalty, is there any special reason we should not allow an asst. coach to ask the same question? I think not. Civility assumed, asst. coach wants to know something; we answer.

mick
Reply With Quote