Quote:
Originally posted by hsbasketballplayer
Thanks, ace...I suppose it depends on an official's definition of a "dunk". Our coach tells us no hands above the rim during warmups to be on the safe side, but I've seen opponents "throw down" the ball with touching the rim with officials present and no action was taken...
|
Officials don't have their own definition of a "dunk". The rule book gives the officials a standard definition of what a dunk is. It doesn't matter if you touch the rim or not. If you "throw down" the ball, it's a dunk, by rule. The officials should never ignore it if they see it- it's a T with no warning.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 6th, 2003 at 02:39 PM]