Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
The infraction is penalized when discovered by the officials. Entering the information prematurely could be construed as a scorer's error, which can be corrected at any time. Bottom line, blow the T when the scorer tells you about it.
|
I'm afraid that's not true. The T is asssesed when the scorer makes the change. If the scorer doesn't inform the officials, no T can be assessed.
10.1.2 SITUATION: (a) Three minutes prior to the start of the game; or (b) during a time-out in the second quarter of play, the Team B coach requests the scorer to add a name to the team list or change a team member's number in the scorebook. When is the penalty invoked for this administrative infraction?
RULING: The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize.