I'm not putting time back on the clock. The legality of the ball being touched refers to the restrictions in 6-4-6 and 6-4-7. The timing rules (5-9) merely state that that the clock is started when the ball is legally touched. The ball or the toss have nothing to do with the legality of the touching.
In addition, when you look at 9-6, it states that if there is a simultaneous violation or a bad toss, the toss is repeated. There is no mention of resetting time for a violation or a bad toss.
Now, if you want to argue that the referee has definite knowledge and looked up at the clock before blowing his whistle . . . . .
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
|