View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 30, 2003, 09:51pm
Tnovak Tnovak is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
I have a question regarding something that should never happens. I had this situation come up:

A-10 drives in for a layup and is fouled in the act of shooting by B-?. As A-10 went to the floor hard, I stopped to check to see if she was injured. Because of the angle of the defensive player, I was unable to see the number on her jersey during the play. When I Iooked up after checking A-10, there were several Team B players there. I checked with my co-official and he gave me a number, but was not 100% sure. The scorer had no idea who had fouled, either.

I eventually ruled that the foul would be charged as a team foul, but not as a personal foul. I am almost certain that this is the correct call and have seen it in the rulebook, but cannot find it now.

Can anyone tell me where it is in the book? Also, can you, by rule, consult the scorer in this case?

Reply With Quote