View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 24, 2003, 08:54pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Dan
Where do you get that interp of the sitch or the casebook? sitch never says U1 signalled, nor does the casebook specifically address an improper signal for the clock to start.

If the U1 improperly signals the clock to start on the front end of a two-shot foul when B1 jumps in and rebounds it, is that not able to be fixed simply because U1 improperly signalled the clock to start? How about U1 chops clock on a fake inbounds pass, then there is a five second count, and 3 seconds ran off the clock. This is now not a timing error by the timer so it can't be fixed? That's kind of silly if you ask me.

Common sense says the clock doesn't start on a bad toss. The Official's Manual backs that up. why fight it?
In Mick's case U1 (and U2 if there) obviously were happy with the toss, so U1 signalled on the touch per rule. Which means the timer properly started the clock. In your other cases the signal is made in error and counter to rule: ball dead after first of 2 FTs - timer error, clock starts on touch on throw-in - timer error.

There is simply no rule that allows us to put time back on the clock in the case of a late whistled bad toss. You might not like it but that is the case, and common sense has nothing to do with it. If it were the case the rules would say so & we would know what to do with points scored & fouls committed during the time that came off in error.
Reply With Quote