Quote:
Originally posted by SoFL_Rookie
A1 drives the lane, takes off for a try. B1 commits an intentional foul on A1. The try is successful.
I realize that this situation is covered in the NF Illustrated Rules, 10-6 Pen 4. Count the basket, award two free throws and ball to team A.
A veteran official whom I respect told me that he would not call it this way. His point was that this play could result in a 6 point play for team A, and that he didn't want to see the game decided on it. Call a personal foul, count basket, award one free throw.
Help a rookie out, what's the "right" call? Stick to the book or consider the effect to the game? I realize this poses a much bigger question, and I am very interested in experienced opinions here.
Matt
(first HS game next Monday night)
|
If the foul was clearly intentional then you have to call it that way, the kid who fouled decided the game, not the ref. You will do fine if you remember this one thing.