View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 02:11pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Hmmmm. Maybe I'm having a flashback to my USBL games. . .

I just looked through Rule 10 and the only reference to interference is after a made basket.

If the ball hits a legally located coach, so that s/he can't get out of the way, then fine; it's like the ball went into the stands. But if the coach "grabs" the ball, especially if it's still over the playing court, s/he has taken away a chance for a player to make a play on the ball. That doesn't seem like a mere OOB situation to me.

Ok, I am no longer happy with my initial answer. But I'm hoping somebody will give some rationale to show that it was right, anyway (other than the NBA case book).
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote