View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2003, 02:21pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by BigDave
Quote:
Originally posted by buddys
How can a referee make a call and if a player has his foot on the line is the offensive player at liberty to run his *** over?
With the new rule, the offensive player can plow him and it is always a block.
Quote:
Originally posted by lawref
Yep. You can't establish legal guarding position with one foot out of bounds. New NFHS rule this year.
All the new rule says is that the player can not have LGP if they are OOB. It doesn't say it is automaticaly a block for being being contacted while OOB.

In situation #7 the defender is moving at the time of contact. Since they do not have LGP by virtue of being OOB, it is a block for moving at the time of contact.

However, a fully stationary opponent can always draw a PC foul even if they are not in LGP. For example, A1 fakes a 3-point shot from the top of the key. B5, who is in the middle of the lane, bites and turns for the rebound. A1 drives down the lane right up the back of a stationary B5 and knocks B5 over. B5 never had LGP but A1 still commited a player control foul.

So, A1 does NOT have free reign to run someone over just because they are not in LGP (out-of-bounds or inbounds). The impact is that B1 is not in LGP when OOB and, as a result, does not ave the right to verticality or to be moving laterally or obliquely when contact occurs.

Let's not overstate this new rule and create another myth.
Reply With Quote