View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2003, 01:20pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
TriggerMN,
Concerning the question of legal guarding status and a player inbounds or not:

I have not seen an issue with how to obtain legal guarding status and in my mind it is a given that verticality only applies after a legal guarding position has been established.

The question/issue is the wording "The guard is not required to have either or both feet on the playing court" (after obtaining legal guarding status) in Article 3.
That phrase, allows for verticality (both feet not touching the playing court, but still inbounds). That along with the AR of loosing legal guarding status if you step OOB, is what solves the problem (for me).

I agree that Article 3 should be worded differently to agree with the AR without raising a question.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote