View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2003, 12:58pm
DownTownTonyBrown DownTownTonyBrown is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Sorry

What I typed was not intended as a quote...

Here is the quote

5.2.1 Situation C:
A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: ...(d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. Ruling: ...In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.

For example (mine) A1 is attempting the alley-oop or just a pass from the three-point area. A2 under or near the basket attempts to catch/dunk the ball but fails to control the pass having only touched (and likely deflected) the pass... score two.

If the official can say A2 didn't touch the throw, score 3. If A2 touched it and was within the two-point area, score 2.

Sorry for the confusion Cameron.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote