View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2003, 01:44pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Chuck, your logic is heading in the correct direction, but do not forget that possession of the ball for a throw-in is not the same securing control of the ball,
Interesting. I see the point, Mark. I guess I sort of combined Art 1 and Art 3 in my thinking. But Art 3 places limits on throw-ins that result in setting the arrow; and after a made or awarded basket isn't within those limits. Very curious. Apparently, we need an Article 4 that will say that the arrow is initially set when ". . .The ball is available to the thrower after a made or awarded basket which is scored before either team has established team control."

However, absent that new article, I think Juulie's solution is the most common-sense way to handle it.

[Edited by ChuckElias on Nov 10th, 2003 at 12:55 PM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote