Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
A made basket is not a violation, so 4-3-3a does not apply, nor should it. The rule was never intended to address this situation.
We have a made basket, so it is not one of the situations specified for alternating possession/jump ball. So the second choice that Mark has selected does not go by the book - doesn't make it wrong, but it is not a logical outcome.
Since the book addresses none of these situations, a goal by A (on either a defelction by B or A) should result in B with ball on baseline off the made shot AND the possession arow. Logic dictates that the made basket is a surrogate for team control - it is the most right solution when the rules offer no correct answer.
|
Coach, I agree with you that my Ruling 1 does not fit this situation and we are both correct in that the Rules do not cover this exact situation, then that leaves only one solution and that is my Ruling 2. We have a situation where the ball has been put into play and the possession arrow has yet to be set. If we cannot apply the rule that I quoted in Ruling 1 to Team B's throw-in after Team A's field goal, and I am inclined to agree with you, then the only acceptable solutiona is my Ruling 2. As soon as the ball becomes dead after Team A's field goal the covering official should sound his whistle to stop the clock and a jump ball at center court between any two players should put the ball back into play.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|