View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2003, 11:47am
SamNVa SamNVa is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Chuck,

The relevant rules regarding the "catch" by F2 are:

ASA Rule 1-Catch-e: A ball which strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in-flight is ruled the same as if it had struck the ground.

and ASA Rule 8.8.F: the runner is NOT out when the runner is hit by fair batted ball after it touches or is touched by any fielder, including the pitcher, and the runner could not avoid contact with the ball.

Hope this clears up that part of the play for you.

SamC


Reply With Quote