I stand corrected
Mike and Tom, thanks for the rule cite and clarification. I guess I need to go back and re-read Rule 1, as the part about the ball hitting the batter did not occur to me.
I figured the step backward reasoning was a stretch at best and was leaning toward the caught ball as the reason for the out. Oh well, better to screw it up here than on the field.
Tom - I can certainly see your reasoning for caling the out based on physically assisting the runner, but I don't know if I could invoke it for a light tap on the shoulder. This may be a situation to follow the spirit of the rule as opposed to the letter of the rule (IMHO).
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
|